To blog or not to blog

With the publication of my novel, A Shadowed Livery, due in April I’m advised I need to put the word out. In fact, I was talking to a bookshop owner yesterday who, when I told him I had the book coming out, he said ‘well good luck if it’s fiction, we rarely order any fiction by unknown authors’!

So today I set my mind to the task, but where to go? I have a Facebook page but that doesn’t seem appropriate, similarly LinkedIn. So, as the novel is available for pre-order on Amazon, I thought I’d set up an author page on their Author Central service. Easy enough but then realised people will only see my author page if they’re looking for it or looking for the book, so not the best starting point for a freshly published writer.

I bought a domain name awhile ago www.charliegarratt.com but didn’t have a web page to go with it. After a couple of hours fiddling about trying to design a landing page I thought ‘why not point my domain at the WordPress page I’ve set up?’. It looks clean, it’s (fairly) easy to use and I can both blog and keep other content in the same place. Eureka! I’m sure if I read articles I’ll find the advice is to have as much presence as possible but I’m not sure I have the energy to keep track of lots of places and to keep them all up to date. I guess the real challenge is not where to write but how to get people reading it.

Any thoughts most welcome.

One comment

  1. Renard Moreau

    [ Smiles ] I would suggest this:

    Create a page for your WordPress blog on your domain; so when they check out that page, they would find a link that leads them to this blog. Simple and effective!

    Like

Leave a Reply

