A time to write

I haven’t posted anything for a week or so and I’d like to say it’s because I’ve had my head down redrafting my novel. But it isn’t. In fact, I don’t know where the time has gone. I was reading a post from an author a few days ago where she thought her idea of heaven would be to have a couple of days with no work, children, etc so she could write. Unfortunately I don’t think it works quite like that. Someone once said ‘genius is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration’ and I’d probably paraphrase that as ‘writing is 1% intention and 99% dedication’. We can find any number of distractions to avoid the perspiration: the internet, emails, keeping up to date with reading, family, friends, even writing posts but any serious writer needs to put those to one side for at least part of every day and get on with the task in hand.

I no longer work so should have all the time in the world to spend writing. I do now spend much more time than I did when I went out to an office every day, but have to admit that I don’t put in the hours that I could. Stephen King, in his excellent book ‘On Writing’ talks of writing 2000 words a day, every single day, until the first draft is finished. It would be easy to dismiss this as him being a full time author so he has the ‘luxury’ of writing  that much, but it’s more than that. He’s dedicated to his job, as well as enjoying it most of the time.

I’m not a big fan of Stephen King’s writing, but I do so wish I could emulate his commitment.

Leave a Reply

