What a night

Last night we launched A Shadowed Livery in Ireland. It was a great evening, starting with general chat and ShadowedLiveryProof3excellent background piano, then some very kind words from a friend and writer about the ‘new man in her life’ – not me but Inspector James Given, the protagonist in my novel who she followed for months when we shared our latest scribblings in our writers’ group. The food (which included Donegal sheep’s cheese – it’s a new one on me too) and drink flowed until we settled down to a couple of hours of a traditional music session.

We sold some books too, but that was almost incidental to the good time we had. I’m always fascinated when I do a reading, or attend one, how attentive an audience can be. It confirms for me that we have an innate desire to be told stories, to be taken away from our own world and lifted, albeit temporarily, to another. Last night I read only a couple of pages but I was approached by several people afterwards wanting to know what happened next, further testament of the power of the written word.

IMG_5430IMG_5401   IMG_5439IMG_5473

Leave a Reply

